The Santa Rosa Education Foundation has announced the five semifinalists selected from 33 nominees for Santa Rosa Teacher of the Year. 

They are April Ballard, S.S. Dixon Intermediate; Erin Cosky, Gulf Breeze High; Mark Sargent, Santa Rosa High; Christina Andrus, West Navarre Primary; and Joshua Odom, Woodlawn Beach Middle.

The SREF Teacher of the Year Selection Committee — which comprises administrators, business and community leaders, parents, and previous Santa Rosa Teachers of the Year — will observe the semifinalists in their classrooms and conduct interviews before selecting three finalists.

The Santa Rosa Teacher of the Year will be announced Wednesday, Jan. 24. All nominees will be recognized March 2 at Santa Rosa’s Golden Apple Awards celebrating all Santa Rosa teachers.

Contact SREF at 983-5043 or for sponsorship information.