NAVARRE — Here are highlights involving area students:

Area residents among William Carey honor students

William Carey University has announced the president’s and dean’s list scholars for the fall trimester.

Area students earning recognition are:

Cantonment — dean's list: Kathleen Breanna Woods Gulf Breeze — president's list: Bonnie Elisabeth Edwards and Emily Grace Edwards Milton — president's list: Julie Elizabeth Jackson Pensacola — president's list: Adrianna Noelle Bonelli; dean's list: Jonathan Richard Bonelli and Farrah Dawn Nicholas

President’s list scholars have a perfect 4.0 grade point average and dean’s list scholars must have at least a 3.5 grade point average.


Troy graduates include locals

Troy University recognized students who completed requirements for graduation during Term 1 of the 2017-2018 academic year.

Northwest Florida residents who graduated include: 

Jennifer Augustine of Baker, Associate of Science in General Education James Bagby of Navarre, Master of Public Administration Hillary Gibson of Navarre, Master of Science in International Relations Tammy Kronlage of Gulf Breeze, Master of Science in Counseling and Psychology Megan Maher of Navarre, Master of Science in International Relations Tara Parker of Navarre, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration Megan Parnell of Gulf Breeze, Bachelor of Science


Santa Rosa residents among 'Who's Who'

Troy University students named "Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges" for the fall 2017 semester include these local residents:  

Chanda Hawthorne of Jay  Kandace Jernigan of Milton  Amy Russo of Pace 

"Who's Who" recognizes juniors, seniors and graduate students who have excelled in campus leadership and in their academic area. Selections are made based on academic standing, community service, leadership ability and potential for continued success. 

Navarre resident joins honor society

Jessica Thompson of Navarre was initiated into Phi Kappa Phi honor society at the University of Florida.

Thompson is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter.

Just the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership.

Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.